Home » Database Administration » Checking SAP R/3 tablespaces

Checking SAP R/3 tablespaces

RSS Link

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 744,399 hits


Categories


SAP R/3 are ERP software using large database. Usually commercial databases such Oracle, DB2, Informix is used as its database server. Mine using Oracle 9.2.0.6.

SAP tcode DB02 is use to check database size, tablespaces size, current statistic, checking freespace statistic, analyze detailed tablespace, checking missing indexes, and space critical objects. Actually, we can do more than that.

SAP R/3 installation created 6 tablespaces by default. Here are name of their tablespaces :

  • PSAPTEMP
  • PSAPUNDO
  • PSAP[SID]
  • PSAP[SID]620
  • PSAP[SID]UDR
  • SYSTEM

I am using SAP R/3 Enterprises 4.7 ext 200 version. It may be different if you are using old or new ones.

SAP R/3 data is saved on PSAP[SID] tablespace. So, we need to managed this tablespace carefully.

When you type DB02,

Press Space Statistic button to find out tablespace size and its growth. Tablespace’s growth can be seen daily, weekly, or monthly.

To check tablespace current size, just click Current Size button.

Click on PSAP[SID] tablespace and then, click Freespace Analysis.

If your PSAP[SID] tablespace size is reaching 95% level, you should consider increasing its size. You can use BRTOOLS to increase tablespace size. We’ll talk about BRTOOLS later.


19 Comments

  1. fairy says:

    font size is to small nt able to see clearlly can u sent me little bit font size
    thanks for u guidence

  2. K Laxminarayana says:

    Very nice way of explaining, can you explain how to increase tablespace by using BRTOOLS for Oracle 9i on Linux.

  3. ardhian says:

    Dear Laxminarayana,

    You can access menu to increase tablespace from BRTOOLS command.

    Just access your DB server using root user and switch to ora as oracle user.

    Then type BRTOOLS
    Choose SPACE Managements

    You can that there you can see menu EXTEND TABLESPACE

    Hope this could help you.

    Ardhian

  4. ADMLee says:

    Hallo,
    could you please tell me if I need to stop SAP system and DB Oracle I have to extend the PSAPTEMP tablespace?
    Do I have to stop the system to extend other tablespaces??

    Thnak you for your best answer ever in advance.

    Regards
    Lee

  5. ardhian says:

    Hi,

    You do not need to stop you SAP system and DB to extend any tablespace. You can extend any tablespace online while your SAP system and Oracle DB running.

    Best Regards,
    Ardhian

  6. zak says:

    Just Love it!

  7. Akmal says:

    Great explanation sir …

  8. Mai says:

    Excellent info appreciated…
    Thanks

  9. Rajesh says:

    use BRTOOLS to increase tablespace size

  10. SEO says:

    Hi,

    How do you extend table spaces in SQL database?

    Thank you in advance.

    Raj

  11. Manan says:

    Hello,

    Could you please help me out with the proper steps to see all Tablespace in a single screen using BRTOOLS.

    Thanks in advance.

  12. It’s the best time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve learn this put up and if I could I want to recommend you few interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

  13. Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this web page, and article is actually fruitful for me, keep up posting these types of articles.

  14. Ahmed says:

    How to change in ECC 6 Pls help me..

  15. Jed says:

    Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?

    My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  16. Andres says:

    I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this blog on regular basis to get updated from most up-to-date gossip.

  17. If some one wants to be updated with latest technologies
    afterward he must be pay a quick visit this website
    and be up to date everyday.

  18. Hi exdeptional blog! Does running a blog such as this require a great deal of
    work? I’ve no expertise in programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyway, if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.

    I understand this is off topic but I simply had
    to ask. Thank you!

Leave a comment

August 2007
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Popularity


PageRank

Bookmark and Share